Taylor in control as Chisnell and Smith bow out of the Betway Premier League darts

Programme Master Darts news

Michael Smith and Dave Chisnall have been eliminated from this season’s Betway Premier League as the field was narrowed down to eight at the Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff.

Following a night where the crowd was witness to an enthralling 6-6 draw between Michael Van Gerwen and Raymond Van Barneveld, the League now has an outright leader in Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor.

The sixteen-time World Champion ensured Smith’s fate with a 7-5 victory, finished off in impressive fashion with a 124 checkout ending on the bull.

Meanwhile Peter Wright’s 7-5 win over Chisnall would confirm the night’s two eliminations with Robert Thornton just scraping through to the next round despite a 7-4 loss to Adrian Lewis.

After nine-rounds, the top four is separated by just two points with Taylor holding a one-point advantage over both Van Gerwen and Anderson while Lewis sits another point back.

The Premier League next heads to Sheffield on April 7, featuring a headline match-up between the competition leader and the current World Champion.

View the full Betway Premier League Schedule on the Official Professional Darts Corporation website.

Check-out the Official event programme

Submit a Comment

3 + 2 =